Aoraki Dragon Boat
Association (Inc)
Christchurch, NZ

  Race Regatta
  ADBA Meetings

All local regatta

  NZ Regattas
  Other countries


Aoraki Ice-Breaker, 2013/14

Aoraki's first on-the-water event for the season was again on Lake Pegasus on Sunday 8-Dec-2013. Format:

  • 250 metre Sprints Heats (each team has two Heats).
    Note there are no 500 metre races at this event.
  • 250 metre Sprint Finals (all teams have a Final, with placing in each Final based on the fastest of two heats. Note, no Divisional finals)
  • Tug-of-War (land based) around lunch time.
  • Turns Races - 1,000 m with 3 turns.
    Start (and Finish) at the Swing Bridge, two "Flights" of 8 boats per flight, with each boat leaving at 15 second intervals.

See Race Draw (as emailed via Google Groups).

Tug of War 2013

Reigning champion is Aurecon Engineering. Who has the grunt (and the technique) this year?

During the lunch 'break' teams enter the Tug of War. This is the Mighty Airways Paddlateers team, not that Aurecon lot...

Racing Finishes around 15:00 scheduled, teams pack up and then the Prize Giving is lake-side.

Team Entries

As at 2-Dec the following teams have confirmed entry:

  1. ABOL Amazons (Women)
  2. Airways Paddlateers (Mixed)
  3. Aurecon Avengers (Mixed)
  4. Avonside Girls HS (Girls)
  5. Beca Crewsaders (Mixed)
  6. Catholic Cathedral College (mixed)
  7. Christchurch Girls High (Girls)
  8. Hillmorton (Horomako Shock)
  9. Rangiora HS (Girls)
  10. P1 Paddlers (St John, Mixed)
  11. Ridge Riders (U23)
  12. CIAL Flying Dragons (Mixed)
  13. Sampan Warriors (Mixed)
  14. Tu Meke (Mixed)
  15. Waimak Attack (Mixed)
  16. Waimak Thunder (Mixed)

All teams must complete a Safety Waiver, signed by each paddler.

The following will NOT be there: Rangi Ruru Girls' School, St Margarets Girls, Simply the Breast (Blenheim), GIAG, Marian.

Aoraki have organised to have a coffee cart on site plus Kebab King. Also, Hillmorton HS parents will be selling food.

Back to Ice Breaker.


Click here to see all Ice Breakers, or all Aoraki regatta (incl past seasons).

All Races are in the Standard 20-paddler "Champion" boats.

Race briefing for crews is 9:30, with first races (250m Heat 1) starting at 10:00 am. The final race will be around 3pm.

Note, team lists do not need to be submitted, BUT you should have completed a Safety Waiver form by now. Remember, paddlers must be 14 years of age or older on the day.

Key people:
Race Control and Finish Line timing GIAG
Race Starter Meri Gibson
Crew Loading Amy Wark
Safety Boat TBA

Tug of War Trophy

How much does it cost?

Aoraki's charges entry fees to Regattas on a cost recovery basis (we are a not-for-profit organisation). Season fees cover all training plus the Early Bird and our big Regatta for the year ("South Island Champs").

But fees for other regatta (like this Ice Breaker) will be on a cash basis. Aoraki charges a nominal fee from teams to cover the cost - in this case, $5 per paddler or $100 per team. This applies to local or visiting teams.

As listed at EventFinder...

This event is supported and promoted by:
As advertised on Be There
Supported by Christchurch City Council
As advertised on EventFinder


Affiliated to NZDBA home - contact us - faq