Aoraki Dragon Boat
Association (Inc)
Christchurch, NZ

  Race Regatta
  ADBA Meetings

All local regatta

  NZ Regattas
  Other countries

The following teams have confirmed their entry:
ABOL Amazons (W)
Sampan Warriors
Simply the Breast (BHM) (W)
Tu Meke.
Ridge Riders (U23)

Waimak Attack.

Waimak Thunder (W)
Airways Paddlateers
Beca Crewsaders
CIAL Flying Dragons
P1 Paddlers (SJAB)
Avonside Girls HS (G)
Catholic Cathedral College
Chch Girls HS (G)
Greymouth Schools (M)
Hillmorton HS (Mixed)
Marian College (G)
Rangiora HS
St Margarets College (G)
Villa Maria (G)

Not competing:

  • Kaiapoi HS
  • Papanui HS (G)
  • Lincoln College (G)
  • Lincoln College (M)
  • Rangi Ruru (G)

Remember to subscribe to the Google News Group.


The "Aoraki Open" - 2014

The "Aoraki Open Dragon Boat Regatta" was on Sunday 23-Feb-14, at the fantastic Lake Pegasus. The setup on Saturday was under scorching blue skies, but Sunday opened to light drizzle and grey skies in Canterbury.

For about the first two races, the drizzle eased, and then (thanks to the prayers of Villa and Catholic Cathedral College) the clouds paretd and all racing was under cloudless skies, but with a building easterly.

First race was 10:00 am into a light southerly, with one Heat of 250 metres. Teams used seats and drums with the aid of an overhead rope for the Drummer to hold on the start line. This year ALL teams progress to Divisional 250m Sprint Finals with Certificates awarded to the winners (plus 2nd and 3rd) of each Division. Summary of winners:

  • Fastest Open: Ridge Riders
  • Fastest Corporate: Aurecon
  • Fastest Women: ABOL Amazons
  • Fastest Mixed School: Hillmorton
  • Fastest Girls School: Avonside

250m Sprints:

Fastest times - 250 metre          
Team place time Diff
1 Ridge Riders 1 1 1.71 61.7
2 Tu Meke 2 1 2.84 62.8 1.13
3 Waimak Attack 3 1 3.19 63.2 0.35
4 Aurecon 1 1 4.84 64.8 1.65
5 Beca Crewsaders 2 1 4.85 64.9 0.01
6 CIAL 3 1 5.36 65.4 0.51
7 Paddlateers 4 1 6.01 66 0.65
8 P1 Paddlers 5 1 7.34 67.3 1.33
9 Sampan Warriors 4 1 7.44 67.4 0.1
10 Avonside Girls 1 1 7.9 67.9 0.46
11 Hillmorton 1 1 8.12 68.1 0.22

In 2013, Tu Meke edged out Sampan! by just 0.05 sec, with Beca close behind, followed by CIAL.

Round 3 starts (after a short Lunch Break while we reposition the Start Line) at about 12:30 with the first of the 500m Heats.

For the 500's, the four boats paddle to the start line at the beach on the north end of the lake (with a start rope for Drummers to use for alignment), and then race back toward the swing bridge. Full race commentary is broadcast around the great viewing sites on the bank.

The second 500m heat is at about 1:30 pm. Then all teams have a 500m Finals. These start with Girls B Final at about 3 pm, through to the Open Final at about 4 pm. Prize Giving on the Lakeside is about 4:30 pm or so.

Results are:

500m Races:

Open A Final  
1 Ridge Riders 128.36
2 Tu Meke 128.57
3 Waimak Attack 133.59
4 Sampan Warriors 143.02

Last year Ridge Riders won, with Tu Meke second, followed by Sampan and Waimak Attack.

1 Beca Crewsaders 136.96
2 Aurecon 137.02
3 CIAL 138.36
4 Paddlateers 143.58
5 P1 Paddlers 144.08

In the 2013 Corporate final, Beca Carter continued to dominate followed by Aurecon, CIAL and Paddlateers.

1 ABOL Amazons 160.96
2 Simply The Breast 170.39
3 Waimak Thunder 199.31

In the 2013 Womens Final, Waimak Thunder won, with ABOL Amazons edging out Simply the Breast from Blenheim.

Schools - Girls  
1 Avonside Girls 140.93
2 Girls High 142.96
3 Marian 144.68
4 Villa Maria 164.82
5 SMC 165.69
6 Rangiora 169.18

In 2013, Avonside Girls edged out Chch Girls High School followed by Marian College.

Schools - Mixed  
1 Hillmorton 146.29
2 Greymouth 150.36
3 Catholic Cathedral College 157.36


Click here to see all Aoraki regatta (incl past seasons).

Click to download results in PDF

Paddlers knew this event as the "Early Bird" Regatta, but these past couple of years we have at least two extra regatta before now, so it is clearly no longer that 'early' in the season. So the event is relaunched as the "Aoraki Open Dragon Boat Regatta".

This page:

Open and Corporate

Schools - Girls, Boys

Teams affiliated to Aoraki and who pay season fees have automatic entry. That is, their entry fees are included in the season's fees.

Entry Fee to the "Open" for non-Aoraki teams (i.e. those that don’t pay Aoraki a season fee) are $300 incl GST, plus a fee to cover provision of a tent and/or other amenities they request. Otherwise they can BYO.

Similarly, South Island Champs (Lake Hood, early March) cost $300 incl GST (plus a fee to cover tent etc)

Related :

Results (and "Early Bird" results from 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)

Last year's Photo gallery
Related forms etc:
Teams should have completed a Safety Waiver form by now.
Regattas are run under NZDBA Race Rules

This event is supported and promoted by:
As advertised on Be There
Supported by Christchurch City Council
As advertised on EventFinder
Pegasus Town



Affiliated to NZDBA home - contact us - faq