Back to the main page Aoraki Dragon Boat
Association (Inc)
Christchurch, NZ

Click these tabs to see the regatta Aoraki ran this season (incl NZDBA Nationals).

Ice Breaker 2015

Date: Sunday 6-Dec-15

Most teams start training after Labour weekend (that is, late October) although some teams get onto the water earlier. The first race day for the season in the South Island is the "Ice Breaker".

Congratulations to:

  • Waimak Attack for winning the 700 metre Turns Race in 176.36 seconds, 6.67 seconds ahead of Aurecon (on adjusted time).
  • Aurecon had an amazing finish-line surge to pip Waimak in the 250 metre Sprint Final, taking it by 0.85 seconds.
  • Sampan Warriors won the Women's Grade of the Tug of war, beating Catholic Cathedral College in the Final.
  • And Waimak Attack beat Beca Crewsaders in the Men's Final.


Lake Rua (off Johns Rd, Russley) is part of the Roto Kohatu lakes (the western half is used for Jet Ski) and it is a good way to start the season, with 250 metre sprints. The racing may also include some form of Turns Racing.


Sunday 6-Dec-2015 (the day after the Kaiapoi Carnival).


The General Schedule (to be confirmed):

  • 9:00 am Nominated teams assist with boat unloading, heads tails etc
  • 9:15 am Captain and Sweeps Briefing
  • 10:00 am - 250m Sprint Heats (see below)
  • 11:45 Tug Of War (and lunch) (again, to be confirmed)
  • 1:00 pm 250m Sprint Final
  • 2:00 1,000m Turns Race, Two flights. Possibly a different configuration this year?
  • 3:00 Prize Giving at Race HQ by the finish line

See all Ice Breaker history.

Super 12 Festival 2016

Date: Sunday 17-Jan-2016

Note, the scheduling of this event in Akaroa is dependent on the tides, number of cruise boats in port etc. This is the fourth year of racing Super 12s in Akaroa - in 2011 and 2012 we ran it at Lake Pegasus. First Race (250 metre Heats) starts at 9 am due to the early tide, so Capatain's Briefing is at 8:30 am. In the morning. Yes that's right. It's early. Plan for it.

Two Heats, and all teams get a Final, starting about 11:45.

From 1 pm, we go to the Beach for the Le Mans Racing, complete with beach start runners, paddling around a flag/marker and Callers doing the last dash to the Finish Line.

Note, as per Waka Ama NZ, from Monday 18-Jan to Saturday 23-Jan, the Activepost Waka Ama Sprint Nationals are at Lake Karapiro.


Division (250m) Winner Runner up Third
Mixed School Greymouth High Schools Catholic Cathedral College -
Girls School Avonside Black Chch Girls High Rangiora
Women Amazon Red Aurecon Women ABOL Black
Corporate Aurecon Mixed Beca Crewsaders Airways Paddlateers
Open Waimak Attack Tu Meke Waimak The Force

From the Beach Races:

  Winner Runner up Third Fourth Fifth Sixth
Le Mans Ridge Riders Avonside Black Avonside White Aurecon Beca Sampan

Location: Akaroa

See all Super 12 Summer Sizzler history.

Aoraki Open 2016

Date: Sunday 21-Feb-16

Other events:

Note Waka Ama run the Takapuna Beach Cup on Friday 19-Feb to Sunday 21-Feb on Auckland's North Shore.

Location: Lake Pegasus (last season it was shifted to Lake Rua)

2011 South Island Champs

Coffee and food (muffins, scones, sandwiches, rolls, pies etc) available from "The Naked Baker" van (mobile EFTPOS available).

See all Aoraki Open history.

South Island Champs 2016

Aoraki's main Dragon Boat Regatta.

Date: Saturday 12-Mar-2016

Note, when Nationals are at Lake Hood (every second year) the South Island Champs are scheduled for the week before, so that we can set up the logistics (tower scaffolding etc) and leave it in place for Nationals.

There are thoughts of running the Nationals (when they are in the South Island) at other locations (maybe Ruataniwha, Wanaka or Queenstown) but to do that we need to first prove that we can do the set up, logistics, moving boats to the venue and so on. And that generally means that we trial it at South Island Champs. Therefore there is more work to be done to make that happen.

Other events:

No known conflicts.

Location: Lake Hood, Ashburton.

See all South Island Champs history.

NZDBA National Championships 2016

Nationals are in the South Island this season, and will be rather early - Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th March 2016. The format is likely to be Saturday for 500m Championships racing [Standard Boat in the morning then Small Boat in the afternoon], then on Sunday, 200m Sprint Championships [again, Standard Boat then Small Boat] and finishing on Sunday with the 2,000m Turns Race. See Nationals.

This is to allow teams to head to Adelaide to participate in AusDBF Champs/Oceania races (24th to 28th March) and in particular the Club Crew World Champs (2nd to 7th April).

Other events:

Note, Waka Ama plan to run the 2016 ActivePost National Secondary School Waka Ama Championships from Tuesday 5-April to Friday 8-April at Lake Tikitapu, Rotorua.

And of course, 2016 is a massive year for Dragon Boating, with the focus on Adelaide. This included:

Sat 19th and Sunday 20th March 2016: "Dragon Boat South Australia State Championships".

On Thursday 24th and Friday 25th March was the "AusDBF National Championships" with two days of Masters racing (Wed 23rd March is a Training Day plus the Opening Ceremony).

Then on 26th March AusDBF National Championships have the "State v State + Oceania" racing, allowing NZ teams to head for this event.

Then on 27th and 28th March are the AusDBF National Championships in "Premier" and "Junior" (ie Schools) Divisions. On 29th, 30th and 31st March, AusDBF host the Asian Champ.

Then the Big One: from 1st April through to 7th April is the IDBF "Club Crew World Champs (CCWC): three days of Masters racing and then a break day and 3 days of "Premier" & "Junior" Division Racing. All at the Ramsay Regatta Course in Adelaide, just across the ditch! The order of racing is 2k Turns, then 500 metres the next day and 200 metres on the third day, as per the following Draws.

Friday (1 April) Race Program Snrs/BCS/ACS 2km
Saturday (2 April) Race Program Snrs/BCS/ACS 500m
Sunday (3 April) Race Program Snrs/BCS/ACS 200m
Tuesday (5 April) Race Program Prem/U24/Junior 2km
Wednesday (6 April) Race Program Prem/U24/Junior 500m (Updated)
Thursday (7 April) Race Program Prem/U24/Junior 200m (Updated)

See NZDBA and all NZDBA Nationals history.

Affiliated to NZDBA updated: 13-Nov-2017 :: (c) Noel Anderton